Too much laughter?

I decided last week I wanted to share a small activity that I’ve used successfully in the past that incorporated humour, student imagination, and key ideas for learning around developing students statistical literacy.  The week culminated with a custard class with my Year 12 students (US grade 11?) last period Friday which prompted me to think more widely about my actions in class.

A bit of background… This year we are working on a variety of strategies to improve the culture and achievement in our mid-band classes – classes where the majority of students are only taking maths because their mother told them to or they didn’t have any other option choices, the students that are happy to put in the bare minimum of effort and just “cruise” through the year, the students that ask “is this worth credits Miss?”, our soggy middle kids.  You know the ones?  Anyway, we’re trying to change things around, in these classes using a variety of strategies including purposely developing positive relationships with students, teaching students about growth mindsets and how their brain works when learning and using tasks that have a high emotional connection – whether it is humour, a powerful connection to the real world, or are just gross and quirky.

The task that started things… I’ve heard this one called Pictionary-Dictionary.  Basically, students get given a strip of paper (I used A3 paper cut in half long-ways) and have to fold it into five about even sections.  They are then asked to draw a scene in the first section of paper – it can be of whatever they like as long as its appropriate for a classroom and has a little bit of detail.  The paper is then passed to a second person who writes a description of the scene and folds the original picture over.  The paper is then passed to a third person who has to draw a (second) picture from the description only (remember the original picture is folded back) and then folds over the description.  A fourth person then has to write a (second) description from the (second) picture, and then folds over the picture.  The last person has to draw a (third) picture from the (second) description.  Finally – unfold and watch the laughter start.

I used this task as a way of explaining to my students how important it is to write detailed descriptions of what they see.  I’ll probably resurrect it later in the unit but with given dot plots/box plots in place of the first picture.  I also used it as a good way to start our new unit of work after finishing with an assessment the day before.  Students had an opportunity to use their imagination and creativity in a fun, laughter-filled environment – there was gentle ribbing about people’s drawing, but the positive class culture was great – everyone was sharing, asking who had drawn what, and having fun. Students WILL remember that lesson – yay! successful lesson!

A few of their creations…

Drawings_Page_01

and the final picture…Drawings_Page_02

This one looks promising with the detailed description to start with… but it all turns to custard with the second description

Drawings_Page_03

and the final picture…

Drawings_Page_04

A simple situation should work okay??

Drawings_Page_11

All going well until someone brings their imagination into it!

Drawings_Page_12

But by Friday… Remember, this is last period Friday.  We started off class well with our Friday Funnies (thanks NCTM and your book of really bad maths jokes!), did some revision work and then moved to the key learning for the lesson – a big idea around the need for a confidence interval.  Students, as often is the case on Friday last period, were chatty, struggling to stay focused, and generally having fun.  I’d moved two students, sent another one outside to recover from her laughing fit, placed one at the front facing the board (I didn’t have any more spare desks) and was still battling to get them quiet to listen to these BIG ideas I was trying to get across.  By the end of the class there were three students I held back to have that conversation about “crossing the line between fun and taking things too far”.  I walked away feeling flat, like I hadn’t taught the students anything and like I’d lost the Friday battle this week.

My actions contributed…  I love this class because we do have fun – we often tease each other, and spend plenty of time laughing together.  I spent a lot of time over the weekend contemplating that Friday class and came to the realization that what happened in class was really my own fault – I had just spent three days winding them up – what did I expect!  It started with the Pictionary-Dictionary activity on Wednesday and continued from there.  Students named all the dogs on their new homework book, we made fun of fat kiwis (the birds, not people) and teased Ben when he thought they were people and not birds.  I threw out lots of those one-liner quips which students enjoy, but which don’t help with calming down the atmosphere and of course there was the student standing with his forehead on the board, whilst still laughing I must add in my defense!).  In this all this hilarity, making my big learning point by loudly announcing “you’re all wrong” really didn’t have the intended effect. [They had all just made a point estimate of the population median from their sample data – we were developing ideas of sampling variation and that all samples will be different, so we can’t just give a point estimate of the population median, we want an interval that we’re pretty sure that it lies between – because they’d all made a point estimate, they were all wrong].  They just had fun telling me “you can’t say that miss”, “we can’t all be wrong”, “that’s not nice miss” etc etc.

The conversation with the class on Tuesday…

Very fine line

I had a really good conversation with the students on Tuesday, the first time I saw them after Friday’s custard lesson.  I showed them the picture above and explained that I thought we both went over that very fine line between having fun AND learning on Friday.  They seemed pretty receptive, and then coped well with a lesson that was a lot of teacher-talk developing big ideas with them.  Just to make it interesting, I did introduce our “Big Ideas Sticks” – more about them in another post!

So… can you have too much laughter in class? How do you know when you’re winding your students up too much and taking them across that very fine line? How do you bring them back? (I’m really lucky with my class as they seemed to have the maturity to be as aware of their actions as I was – but I didn’t try and have that conversation on Friday while they were wound up).

Leave a Reply

